My Image

A SHORT HISTORY OF OUR MASTER BREWER

My Image

After finishing my studies in England, I decided to settle and make my life there. That was 25 years ago.
When I went out to the pub, the wine was often undrinkable and I didn't know what to drink as I did not like beers because of their bitterness.
Over the years, I convinced myself that there must be drinkable beers. I just had to make the effort to discover them. Beers then became "fashionable" in England and many small breweries opened their doors. This was an ideal opportunity for my desire to learn more about beers and to occupy my Saturday nights together with my English husband and his friends.

Little by little, beer has become a real passion of mine. I attended and studied several English courses to learn to brew and to discover the best food and beer pairing.

Last summer, because of Brexit, amongst others things, my husband and I decided to return to France and share our new passion for beer with the people of the Médoc wine region. I searched first for French beers that could satisfy my tastes. I wanted to create a menu of beers to allow wine lovers like me to enjoy beer.
Finally, I added to my English brewing training with a French training course at the renowned agricultural, food and beverage college in Douai in Northern France: CFPPA. Following this course, in May 2019, we established the company and called it "Les Brasseurs de Margaux" ("BM") to create the beers we wanted to share with the people of Médoc.

During my long journey through the multitudes of beers, my taste evolved. At first, I did not like the bitterness of beers. After all, nature has conditioned us to be wary of bitter tastes. But, with time and from one discovery to the next, my taste evolved and today, I can taste and like relatively bitter beers. My husband, meanwhile, only likes bitter or sour beers. Based on these observations, we decided to number our beers from 1 to 6 in order to help our customers travel the same journey I experienced. Number 1 is a white beer and number 6 is an Indian Pale Ale (IPA) that my husband and his friends particularly like.

A second characteristic of our beers is that they are rounded with a full body, but with a modest level of alcohol. We wanted to be able to explain to our consumers that, as for wine, beer complexity is not always related to its degree of alcohol.

We made the choice of quality without compromise. We have invested in new equipment and we have chosen our ingredients according to their taste and geographical location. Indeed, we try to buy locally wherever possible. It is very important to note that all of the ingredients that we put in our beers are 100% organic. We only filter mechanically and we do not add any filtering chemicals to our brewing and fermentation processes.

Today I continue to research how we can use the exogenous yeast from wine in beer. I am working on developing a solution that would bring the two worlds closer together.
Follow the next episode….

Emilie Pons
Master Brewer

My Image
My Image

.... THE GREAT HISTORY OF THE BREWER

My Image

After working for many years as an accountant, consultant and risk manager, I decided to start a new adventure and followed Emilie to the Médoc, in France, to open a brewery.

During my previous life, I consumed many mass-produced beers that were tasteless.
Nowadays, we produce a different type of beer with a fuller body and a more complex aroma but not too much alcohol. Our beers are certified organic by conviction because, like Emilie, I think that organic beers are higher in quality and have improved taste.
I enjoy challenges and I've always liked optimising processes to make them more efficient. Creating the brewery has been a big challenge and I have found it to be very enjoyable. Choosing the materials and the suppliers through to creating the beer, packaging and delivering it to our customers is a very satisfying experience.

I also like to cool off with a cold IPA drink after a walk in the woods with the dog or run on the trails.
And my wife is never far away to discuss the day’s activities and look forward to the future.

Duncan Wilson
Brasseur

My Image

Brew School
IBD
Beer & Food Matching
Beer and Cider Academy

Brew School
IBD
Beer & Food Matching
Beer and Cider Academy

La formation CFPPA de Douai -Centre de Formation Professionnelle et de Promotion Agricole- se déroule plusieurs fois par an et comporte des sessions d'approfondissement sur des sujets spécifiques (biochimie, eau, fermentation, risque, ...)

The CFPPA Douai training - Professional Training Centre for Food and drink producers and Agricultural businesses - is held several times a year and includes in-depth sessions on specific topics (biochemistry, water, fermentation, risk, etc...)

Le projet est d'utiliser des levures exogènes destinées aux vins et en particulier aux grands crus de Margaux pour fabriquer de la bière.

The project is to use exogenous yeasts for wines, in particular, Margaux Grands Crus, to make beer.

My Image

LA PETITE HISTOIRE DU MAÎTRE BRASSEUR...

My Image

Après avoir fini mes études en Angleterre, j’ai décidé de m’y installer et d’y faire ma vie. C’était, il y a 25 ans.
Lorsque je sortais au pub, le vin y était souvent imbuvable et du coup je ne savais pas quoi boire. Je n’aimais ni les bières, ni leur amertume.
Et puis au fil des années, je me suis convaincue qu’il devait y avoir des bières buvables. Il fallait juste que je fasse l’effort de les découvrir. Les bières étaient devenues « à la mode » en Angleterre et beaucoup de petites brasseries ouvraient leurs portes. Idéal pour mes désirs d’apprentissage et afin d’occuper mes Samedis soirs avec mon mari anglais et ses amis.

Petit à petit, La bière est devenue une réelle passion. J’ai suivi plusieurs formations anglaises afin d’apprendre à brasser et connaitre les meilleurs accords mets et bières.

L’été dernier, pour cause de Brexit entre autre, mon mari et moi avons décidé de rentrer en France et partager notre nouvelle passion pour la bière avec les français du Médoc. J’ai d’abord recherché les bières françaises qui pourraient me correspondre. Je voulais créer un parcours afin de permettre aux œnophiles comme moi, d’apprécier la bière.
Finalement, je suis allée compléter ma formation anglaise par une formation au CFPPA de Douai et nous avons créé « Les Brasseurs de Margaux » en Mai 2019 afin de fabriquer nous-mêmes les bières que nous désirions faire partager.

Mon long voyage à travers les multitudes de bières m’a permis de constater que notre goût évoluait face à l’amertume. Au départ, je n’aimais pas du tout l’amertume des bières. Après tout, la nature nous a conditionné à nous méfier des goûts amers. Puis, de découvertes en découvertes, mon goût à évolué et je déguste aujourd’hui des bières relativement amères. Mon mari, quant à lui, n’aime plus que les bières amères ou acides. Forts de cette constatation, nous avons décidé de numéroter nos bières de 1 à 6 afin d’aider nos clients dans ce parcours initiatique. La numéro 1 est une bière blanche et la numéro 6 est une Indian pale ale (IPA) que mon mari apprécie particulièrement.

Une deuxième caractéristique de nos bières est qu’elles sont rondes avec du corps mais pourtant très peu alcoolisées. Nous voulions pouvoir expliquer que, comme pour le vin, la complexité de la bière n’est aucunement lié avec son degré d’alcool.

Nous avons fait le choix de la qualité sans compromis. Nous avons investi dans du matériel neuf et nous choisissons nos ingrédients en fonction de leurs qualités gustatives et leur géolocalisation. En effet, nous essayons d’acheter les produits localement lorsque c’est possible. Il est à noter également que tous les ingrédients que nous mettons dans nos bières sont 100% bios. Nous ne filtrons que mécaniquement et nous n’ajoutons aucun produit chimique lors de notre processus de fabrication.

Aujourd’hui je continue à rechercher comment je peux utiliser la levure exogènes du vin dans la bière. Je travaille au développement d’une solution qui permettrait de rapprocher encore les deux univers.
Suite au prochain épisode…

Emilie Pons
Maître Brasseur

My Image
My Image

... LA BELLE HISTOIRE DU BRASSEUR

My Image

Après de trop longues années passées comme comptable puis consultant en gestion des risques, j’ai décidé de commencer une nouvelle aventure en acceptant de suivre Emilie dans le Médoc afin d’y ouvrir une brasserie et devenir ainsi artisan brasseur.

Au cours de ma vie antérieure, j’ai consommé une grande quantité de bières industrielles et sans goût. Aujourd’hui je veux produire une boisson différente avec du corps mais pas trop alcoolisée. Je la désire certifiée bio par conviction et car, comme Emilie, je pense que le bio permet d’accéder à une meilleure qualité gustative. Je la voudrais avec un goût complexe. J’aime les challenges et j ai toujours aimé optimiser des processus afin de les rendre plus performants.
Créer la brasserie de toute pièces, c’est à dire d’une part choisir le matériel et les fournisseurs mais aussi penser comment automatiser les processus de fabrication sont deux occupations qui m’occupent pleinement au quotidien et me permettent de découvrir ce nouveau travail que j’adore.

J’aime aussi me rafraîchir en dégustant un verre d’IPA froide après une promenade dans les bois avec le chien ou une course de trail.
Et puis, ma femme n’est jamais bien loin pour discuter avec moi si j’en ai envie.

Duncan Wilson
Brasseur

My Image

Brew School
IBD
Beer & Food Matching
Beer and Cider Academy

Brew School
IBD
Beer & Food Matching
Beer and Cider Academy

La formation CFPPA de Douai -Centre de Formation Professionnelle et de Promotion Agricole- se déroule plusieurs fois par an et comporte des sessions d'approfondissement sur des sujets spécifiques (biochimie, eau, fermentation, risque, ...)

The CFPPA Douai training - Professional Training Centre for Food and drink producers and Agricultural businesses - is held several times a year and includes in-depth sessions on specific topics (biochemistry, water, fermentation, risk, etc...)

Le projet est d'utiliser des levures exogènes destinées aux vins et en particulier aux grands crus de Margaux pour fabriquer de la bière.

The project is to use exogenous yeasts for wines, in particular, Margaux Grands Crus, to make beer.